Young Horticulturist of the Year 2017 competition launches

The Chartered Institute of Horticulture's Young Horticulturist of the Year prize is open for entries.

Winner of the Young Horticulturist of the Year 2016, Lawrence Wright

The prize is a £2,500 travel bursary, and anyone under 30 is eligible for the Young Horticulturist of the Year competition.

The 2016 winner Lawrence Wright is in the first stages of planning how to use his £2,500 Percy Thrower Trust Travel Bursary and is considering a trip to Australia. He works as a horticulturist an plantsman at the Tregothnan Estate in Cornwall, having completed his studies at RHS Gardens Wisley.

The 2015 YHoY winner Jessica Evans, senior gardener at the National Trust's Tintinhull Gardens in Somerset, said: "I would now really like to support the running of the competition and encourage others to take part as it is vitally important to celebrate the quality and knowledge of young horticulturists."

The Grand Final is being held at the University Centre Shrewsbury on 6 May. The University is home of Percy Thrower and the Shropshire Horticultural Society, platinum sponsors of the competition and the travel bursary. Other sponsors include Wyevale Garden Centres, MorePeople, HTA and AHDB.

Entrants under 30 on July 31 2017 can take part in the competition. Contact or see

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins

Sign up now
Already registered?
Sign in

Partner Content

"We work as one team, we are innovators and we are proud"

Presented by SWISCo
close up of a potted plant

Peat-free growing: the opportunities and challenges

Presented by Fargro